Affiliate Faculty

To request an affiliate position or to update your information, please contact bioe@uic.edu.

 

 

Affiliate Faculty

Zhuming Ai, PhD

zai@uic.edu
(312) 996-7337
Department/Company : Biomedical Health Information
Research Interest : Virtual Reality, Visualization, and Computer Graphics

Farid Amirouche, PhD

Amirouch@uic.edu
(312) 996-3601
Department/Company : Mechanical Engineering
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Robert Anderson, PhD

robertan@rush.edu
(312) 942-5451
Department/Company : Rush OB/GYN
Research Interest : …

Gunnar Andersson, MD, PhD

gunnar_andersson@rush.edu
(312) 942-545
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Anjum Ansari, PhD

Ansari@uic.edu
(312) 996-8735
Department/Company : Physics
Research Interest : Dynamics of Nucleic Acids & Protein-DNA Interactions

Alexander Aruin, PhD

Aaruin@uic.edu
(312) 355-0902
Department/Company : Physical Therapy
Research Interest : Motor Disorders & Rehab, Biomechanics

Boaz Avitall, MD, PhD

Bavitall@uic.edu
(312) 996-9090
Department/Company : Cardiac Electrophysiology
Research Interest : Electrophysiology

Amelia Bartholomew, MD, MPH, FACS

ambart@uic.edu
(312)-355-4065
Department/Company : Surgery
Research Interest : Stem cell based tissue regeneration Focus: Kidney, skin and soft tissue

William Beck, PhD

wtbeck@uic.edu
(312) 996-0888
Department/Company : Biopharmaceutical Sciences
Research Interest : …

Anakarina Bedran-Russo, PhD

bedran@uic.edu
Department/Company : Dentistry
Research Interest : Biomaterials, Dental Materials, Hard Tissues, Interfaces

Tanya Berger-Wolf, PhD

tanyabw@uic.edu
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : …

Dulal Bhaumik, PhD

dbhaumik@uic.edu
(312) 413-0348
Department/Company : Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Research Interest : Statistical Inferences, Design of Experiments, Multivariate Analysis

Alan Boghosian, DDS

Boghosian@nwu.edu
(312) 266-6316
Department/Company : Northwestern University Dental School
Research Interest : Physical Properties of Polymer Based Dental Materials

Scott T. Brady, PhD

stbrady@uic.edu
(312) 996-6791
Department/Company : Anatomy and Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Kenneth Brezinsky, PhD

kenbrez@uic.edu
(312) 996-9430
Department/Company :  Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : …

Elisa Budyn, PhD

ebudyn@uic.edu
(312) 996-9631
Department/Company :  Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Development, Disabilities, Assistive Technologies

Kejia Cai, PhD

kcai@uic.edu
(312)413-0091
Department/Company :  Radiology
Research Interest : Metabolic and Molecular MRI

David Carley, PhD

DWCarley@uic.edu
(312) 996-3827
Department/Company :  Medicine
Research Interest : Respiratory & Sleep Neurobiology, Integrative Systems Physiology

Sabri Cetinkunt, PhD

scetin@uic.edu
(312) 996-9611
Department/Company :  Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Mechatronics, Auomatic Control, Robotics, Automation, CAD/CAM

Bhaskar Das Gupta, PhD

bdasgup@uic.edu
(312) 355-1319
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : Bioinformatics, Neural Networks, Computation Biology

Pieter de Tombe, PhD

pdetombe@lumc.edu
(708) 216-1018
Department/Company : Loyola Physiology
Research Interest : …

John Daugirdas, PhD

Jtdaugir@uic.edu
(312) 666-6500
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : Vascular Physiology

Thomas Diekwisch, DDS, PhD

tomdkw@uic.edu
Department/Company : Orthodontics
Research Interest : Gene Function in Tooth Development, Enamel Crystal Growth

Carmen DiGiovine, PhD

cpdigiov@uic.edu
(630)-752-9670
Department/Company : 6 Degrees of Freedom, LLC
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering, Assistive Technology

Urmila Diwekar, PhD

urmila@uic.edu
(312) 413-1649
Department/Company : Bioengineering
Research Interest : Stochastic Modeling, Optimization Uncertainty

Carla Evans, DDS

Caevans@uic.edu
(312) 996-2253
Department/Company : Orthodontics
Research Interest : Orthodontic Mechanotherapy

Christopher Fall, PhD

fall@uic.edu
Department/Company : Georgetown Computer Science
Research Interest : Neural, Cell & Tissue Engineering, Systems Biology

Alan Feinerman, PhD

Feinerma@uic.edu
(312) 996-2313
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Fiber Optic Technology

Douglas Feinstein, PhD

dlfeins@uic.edu
(312) 355-1665
Department/Company : Anesthesiology
Research Interest : Neuroscience

Jesus Garcia-Martinez, MD, PhD

garmar@uic.edu
(312) 355-0260
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest : Exciataion-contraction Coupling in Skeletal & Cardiac Muscle

Richard Gemeinhart, PhD

rag@uic.edu
(312) 996-2253
Department/Company : Pharmaceutics/ Pharmacodynamics
Research Interest : Polymer Chemistry for Drug Delivery & Biomaterials

Anne George, PhD

anneg@uic.edu
(312) 413-0738
Department/Company : Oral Biology
Research Interest : Biomineralization, Noncollagenous Protein, Dentin, Gene Cloning

Ben Gerber, MD

BGerber@uic.edu
(312) 996-8872
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : Computer Applications in Medicine, Medical Informatics

Maryellen L. Giger, PhD

m-giger@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-6778
Department/Company : U Chicago Radiology
Research Interest : Radiology

Mark Grabiner, PhD

grabiner@uic.edu
(312) 996-2757
Department/Company : Kinesiology
Research Interest : Aging, Musculoskeletal Biomechanics

Oliver Graudejus, PhD

ogaudej@princeton.edu
Department/Company : Princeton Physiology
Research Interest : …

Daniel Graupe, PhD

Graupe@uic.edu
(312) 996-3085
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Medical Signal Image Processing

Anil Gulati, PhD

gulati@uic.edu
Department/Company : Midwestern University Pharmacy
Research Interest : Regional & Systemic Hemodynamics & Drug Delivery

Ogan Gurel, PhD

ogan@ogangurel.com
Department/Company : Aesis Research Group
Research Interest : …

Nadim Hallab, PhD

nhallab@rush.edu
(312) 942-5000 x29720
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : In Vivo Metallic Implant Degradation

Luke Hanley, PhD

Lhanley@uic.edu
(312) 996-0945
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Chemical Mods & Analysis of Biological Surfaces

Glenn Hedman, MS

Ghedman@uic.edu
(312) 413-1555
Department/Company : Disability and Human Development
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering

Daniel Hier, MD

dhier@uic.edu
(312) 996-1757
Department/Company : Neurology
Research Interest : Neural Networks, Multi-Imaging Modalities

Anton J. Hopfinger, PhD

Hopfingr@uic.edu
(312) 996-4816
Department/Company : Medicinal Chemistry
Research Interest : Computer Assisted Molecular Design

Constance Jeffery, PhD

cjeffery@uic.edu
(312) 996-3168
Department/Company : Biological Sciences
Research Interest : Protein Structure & Function

Michael Johnson, PhD

mjohnson@uic.edu
(312) 996-9114
Department/Company : Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Research Interest : Computer Aided Therapeutic Design & Structural Bioinfomatics

Greg Jursich, PhD

jursich@uic.edu
(312) 413-8641
Department/Company : Bioengineering
Research Interest : Molecular Dynamics, Spectroscopy, Thin Film Deposition, Nanomaterial

Lon Kaufman, PhD

lkaufman@uic.edu
(312) 996-5822
Department/Company : Biological Sciences
Research Interest : Gene Expression, Genetic Engineering, Molecular Biology

Robert Kenyon, PhD

kenyon@uic.edu
(312) 996-3002
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : Human Computer Interaction

Dong-Hyun Kim, PhD

dhkim@northwestern.edu
(312) 926-3279
Department/Company : Northwestern University
Research Interest : Biomaterials for Image Guided Medicine

Robert Kleps, PhD

kleps@uic.edu
(312) 996-8550
Department/Company : Research Service Facility
Research Interest : NMR

Timothy Koh, PhD

Tjkoh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1617
Department/Company : Kinesiology
Research Interest : Mechanical Load, Muscle Injury, Adaptation

Prakash Kotecha, PhD

kotecha@uic.edu
(312) 413-1292
Department/Company : Vishwamitra Research Institute
Research Interest : Sustainability, Carbon capture and Sequestration, Process Systems Engineering, Artificial Intelligence

Mary Jo Ladu, PhD

mladu@uic.edu
(312) 355-4795
Department/Company : Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Abnormalities in Processing of Amyloid Presursor Protein in Alzheimer’s

Andrew Larson, PhD

a-larson@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : NWU Radiology
Research Interest : …

Irena Levitan, PhD

levitan@uic.edu
(312) 996-8039
Department/Company : Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep Medicine
Research Interest : Cardiovascular Research

Fei Li, PhD

fei@uic.edu
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

Jianxun Li, PhD

jxli@uic.edu
(312) 996-7732
Department/Company : Oral Biology
Research Interest : Cell Adhesion, Proliferation & Differentiation

Qingbo Li, PhD

gkli@uic.edu
(312) 413-9301
Department/Company : Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Research Interest : Anaerobic Metabolism, Bacteriostatic Resistance

Aiming Lu, PhD

aiminglu@uic.edu
(312) 413-3964
Department/Company : MR Research Center
Research Interest : MR Physics

 

 

(continued)

Nadim Mahmud, PhD

nadim@uic.edu
(312) 996-2242
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : …

Asrar Malik, PhD

abmalik@uic.edu
(312) 996-7635
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

Natalia Maltsev, MD, PhD

maltsev@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4960
Department/Company : Human genetics Department, University of Chicago
Research Interest : Computational Biology, Systems Biology, Translational Medicine

G. Ali Mansoori, PhD

mansoori@uic.edu
Department/Company: Chemical engineering, UIC
Research interests: Thermodynamics, nanotechnology and nanobiostructures, diagnostics, phase transitions, density functional theory, molecular dynamics simulations, modern statistical mechanics

Jeremy Mao, PhD

jm2654@columbia.edu
(212) 305-4475
Department/Company : Columbia University Medical Center
Research Interest : Biomemectics, Tissue Engineering of Bone and Cartilage

Phillip Marucha, PhD

marucha@uic.edu
Department/Company : Periodontics
Research Interest : …

Farzad Mashayek, PhD

mashayek@uic.edu
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : …

J. Jason McAnany, PhD

jmcana1@uic.edu
(312) 355-3632
Department/Company : Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research Interest : Visual Dysfunction, Electrophysiology, Psychophysics, Retinal Imaging

David Mogul, PhD

mogul@iit.edu
(312) 567-3873
Department/Company : IIT Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : Electrophysiology & Electrical Dynamics of the Brain

Pirooz Mohazzabi, PhD

pirooz.mohazzabi@uwp.edu
Department/Company : UW Parkside
Research Interest : Physics

Raghu Natarajan, PhD

rnataraj@rush.edu
(312) 942-5367
Department/Company : Rush
Research Interest : Finite Element Modeling in Orthopedics

Hammad Naveed, PhD

Department/Company : Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Research Interest : …

Craig Niederberger, MD

craign@uic.edu
(312) 996-2779
Department/Company : Urology
Research Interest : Biomechanics & Computational Modeling

S. Jay Olshansky, PhD

sjayo@uic.edu
(312) 996-8860
Department/Company : Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Research Interest : Estimates of Upper Limits to Human Longevity

Steven Olson, PhD

Steven.Olson@uic.edu
(312) 996-1043
Department/Company : Oral Diseases
Research Interest : Engineering of Novel Anticoagulant, Antiapoptotic & Antifibrinolytic Proteins

Hayat Onyuksel, PhD

Hayat@uic.edu
(312) 996-2097
Department/Company : Pharmaceutics
Research Interest : Controlled Drug Delivery

Alejandro Espinoza Orias, PhD

alejandro_espinoza@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush, Orthopedic Surgery
Research Interest : …

Marc Ovadia, MD

movadia@uic.edu
Department/Company : UC Pediatrics
Research Interest : Electrophysiology and Pacing

Clive Pai, PhD

cpai@uic.edu
(312) 996-1507
Department/Company : Physical Therapy
Research Interest : Neuromuscular Mechnisms, Motion Analysis

Philip Patston, PhD

patston@uic.edu
(312) 996-8554
Department/Company : Oral Medicine
Research Interest : Mechanism, Regulation, Function, and Structure of the Serpin Family of Proteins

Avinash G. Patwardhan, PhD

apatwar@lumc.edu
(630) 430-7612
Department/Company : Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital, Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Research Interest : Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehab

Dan Pavel, PhD

danpavel@uic.edu
(312) 996-3966
Department/Company : Radiology/ Nuclear Medicine
Research Interest : Medical Imaging

Richard Penn, M.D

rpenn@uic.edu
(312) 355-4972
Department/Company : Bioengineering
Research Interest : …

David R. Pepperberg, PhD

davipepp@uic.edu
(312) 996-4174
Department/Company : Ophthalmology
Research Interest : Retinal Physiology

Pavel Petukhov, PhD

pap4@uic.edu
(312) 996-4262
Department/Company : Medicinal Chemistry & Pharmacognosy
Research Interest : …

Peter Pfanner

pfanner@uic.edu
312-355-3348
Department/Company: Innovation Center
Research Interest: User Centered Medical Device Design

William Pietrzak, PhD

bill.pietrzak@biometmail.com
(219) 267-6639
Department/Company : Biomet, Inc
Research Interest : Orthopedic Biomaterials

Stephen W. Porges, PhD

sporges@uic.edu
(312) 355-1557
Department/Company : Psychiatry
Research Interest : Brain-Body Center

Kim Reisinger, PhD

kreisinger@cirnetwork.org
(312) 355-1557
Department/Company : Ctr. for International Rehabilitation
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Susan Renner, PhD

susan.renner@va.gov
Department/Company : Hines VA Hospital
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Brian Roman, PhD

broman@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-6906
Department/Company : UC Radiology
Research Interest : …

Patrick Rousche, PhD

info@ensisconsulting.com
Department/Company : Ensis Scientific Consulting
Research Interest : neural engineering biomedical device design

Charles Rhodes, PhD

Rhodes@uic.edu
(312) 996-4868
Department/Company : Physics
Research Interest : X-Ray Microimaging and Bioinformatics

Brenda Russell, PhD

Russell@uic.edu
(312) 413-0407
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest : Cardiovascular Biophysics

Aheda Saber, PhD

ahedasabar@yahoo.com
Department/Company : Governors State University
Research Interest : …

Juan Salazer, PhD

jsalazar@ksu.edu
(785) 317-4348
Department/Company : KSU Chemical Engineering
Research Interest : …

Patrick Salmon, PharmD, PhD

patrick.salmon@unige.ch
Department/Company : Neurosciences, Geneva School of Medicine (CMU)
Research Interest : Genetic Engineering of Cells using Lentivectors

Hee-Jeong Sampen, PhD

hee-jeong_sampen@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush Biochemistry
Research Interest : …

Laxman Saggere, PhD

saggere@uic.edu
(312) 413-1031
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : MEMS, BioMEMS

Dan Schonfeld, PhD

dans@uic.edu
(312) 996-5847
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Medical Imaging

Joel Schwartz, DMD, DMSc

joshwar@uic.edu
(312) 355-4311
Department/Company : Oral Medicine
Research Interest : Pathology

Stanley Sclove, PhD

slsclove@uic.edu
(312) 996-2681
Department/Company : Information & Decision Sciences
Research Interest : Time Series Segmentation

Michael Scott, PhD

mjscott@uic.edu
(312) 996-4354
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Design Theory, CAD

Kotaro Sena, DDS, PhD

kotaro_sena@rush.edu
(312) 942-5548
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Ahmed Shabana, PhD

shabana@uic.edu
(312) 996-3600
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Dynamic Systems

Sadhana Sharma, PhD

sadhana@uic.edu
Department/Company : Ohio State University
Research Interest : …

Scott Shippy, PhD

Sshippy@uic.edu
(312) 355-2426
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Chemical Signaling in the Mammalian Brain

Brenda Sposato, MEBME, ATP

bsposato@uic.edu
(312) 413-7785
Department/Company : Assistive Technology
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering

Glenn Stebbins, PhD

gstebbin@rush.edu
(312) 563-3854
Department/Company : Rush Neurological Sciences
Research Interest : Effects of Aging on Cognitive Function in Humans

Rick Sumner, PhD

rick_sumner@rush.edu
(312) 942-5501
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Bone Regeneration & Implant Fixation

Janet Szlyk, PhD

janeszly@uic.edu
(312) 996-1466
Department/Company : Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Research Interest : Vision Loss in Retinal Diseases

Peter Tek, MS, DO

peter.tek@mwumail.midwestern.edu
Department/Company : MWU Urology
Research Interest : Medical Device Design

Joseph Towles, PhD

towles@northwestern.edu
(312) 238-1235
Department/Company : Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Research Interest : Hand biomechanics & control after neurologic injury, simulation of treatment interventions

Matthew Tresch, PhD

m-tresch@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : NWU Physiology
Research Interest : Biomechanics & Rehabilitation

David Ucker, PhD

duck@uic.edu
(312) 413-1102
Department/Company : Microbiology & Immunology
Research Interest : …

Amarjit Virdi, PhD

avirdi@rush.edu
(312) 942-5143
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Biomechanics, Bone Regeneration

Kishore Wary, PhD

kkwary@uic.edu
(312) 413-9582
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : Biology of EPCs

Jamie Williams, PhD

jwilliams@robsonforensic.com
Department/Company : Robson Forensic
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Markus Wimmer, PhD

markus_a_wimmer@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : Damage and Wearing of Implants

Shaolin Yang, PhD

shaolin@uic.edu
(312)-413-3818
Department/Company : Psychiatry, Radiology
Research Interest : MRI, MRS, Psychiatric Disorder, Type 2 Diabetes, Drug Abuse, HIV, and Body/Organ Diseases

X. Joe Zhou, PhD

xjzhou@uic.edu
(312) 413-3979
Department/Company : MR Research Center
Research Interest : MRI Physics & Tumor Applications

Bert Zuber, PhD

blzuber@uic.edu
Department/Company : Professor Emeritus
Research Interest : …